News Archives

The Roseville Police Department has awarded 20 police volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service.

Established in 2003, the President’s Volunteer Service Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service, and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.

The Roseville Police Department has a long history of attracting community-spirited volunteers.  Currently almost 50 volunteers donate their time to the benefit of the police department and the citizens of Roseville. Roseville Police volunteers perform a wide variety of important tasks, from office work to patrolling the parks and streets as extra “eyes and ears” for the police department.

Roseville Police Chief Joel Neves said, “We are truly indebted to our volunteers.  The whole Roseville community owes them their thanks. It would be very difficult for us to maintain our current level of service without the time and talent of our volunteer force.”

Adele Best, who has volunteered in the Roseville Police Department’s records division since 1996, received the President’s Volunteer Service Lifetime Award. Mrs. Best has donated more than 5,610 hours of service to date.

Mrs. Best also received the President’s Volunteer Service Gold Award, as did longtime police volunteer Sandra Magdaleno.  Each donated more than 500 hours of service to the Roseville Police Department in 2006.

Baldwin Bobe, Frances Jones, Jean Lovtang, William Adams and Jerry Adams, Maury Lucket, and Vic Pelton received the Silver Award for volunteering between 250 and 499 hours in 2006.

Recipients of the Bronze Award contributed between 100 and 249 hours of service to the Roseville Police Department in 2006. They include Barbara Chabot and Claude Chabot, Darlene Brege, Dennis Moncrief, Diana Raether, Edward Schatzman, Elissa Schrader, Noreen Sorg, Stan McClung, Victor Maiello, and Wayne Hauptman.

Roseville Today is locally owned & community supported.
We have NO affiliation with print, politics or corporate media.
(Now in our 20th Year)